Love American Gods? Try These Absolutely Awesome 4 Books

Love American Gods? Try These Absolutely Awesome 4 Books

 

Some of us discovered American Gods by Neil Gaiman when the book came out in 2001, winning the Hugo, Nebula, and Locus Awards. Others have recently found it via the tv adaptation currently showing. Either way, if you’re loving the struggles of the godsquad and want more, try one of these awesome book suggestions.

 

 

 

 

 

 

American Gods Readalikes

 

Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by NK Jemisin. More SF than fantasy, this first book of the Inheritors Trilogy will grab you and not let go! It’s a complex story about the intrigues, battles, loves and punishments of gods. Jemisin, a Hugo winner, writes strongly plotted, beautifully worded stories.

The Immortals by Jordanna Max Brodsky. What happens to gods when their worshippers have abandoned them? If you’re Artemis, you turn into a vigilante stalking the streets of New York avenging abused women. But now someone is resurrecting ancient rituals that include human sacrifice and it’s time for Artemis to once again become the Goddess of the Hunt.

Hounded by Kevin Hearne. First in an urban fantasy series featuring Atticus O’Sullivan, last surviving Druid, and his faithful hound, Oberon. Atticus’s peaceful life as a bookseller in Arizona is shattered when he unwillingly gets caught up in the wars of the Celtic gods. Hearne has a deft touch with humor; I defy anyone to keep a straight face when reading Oberon’s thoughts about sausages and poodles.

Gospel of Loki by Joanne Harris. If you’re a Slytherin at heart or have a soft spot for the underdog, you’ll enjoy this retelling of Norse mythology from trickster Loki’s point of view.

Bonus Suggestions

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you want to know more about Norse mythology, give Neil Gaiman’s Norse Mythology a try. An elegant retelling of the classic stories.

Ready to revisit the world of American Gods? Give Anansi Boys a try. Who doesn’t want to read a story that starts off with Anansi dropping dead on a karaoke stage?!

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Website Specialist, social media enthusiast, content strategist, marketing aficionado.