Databases: Electronic Resources

Search for articles and information using our collection of electronic resources. Read our tips for searching for information.

Search alphabetically
A B C D E F G H-I J K L M N O P Q-R S T U V W X-Y-Z


Search by category
Auto & Mechanical Biography Books Business
Clermont County Education For Kids Genealogy
Health History Homework Help Jobs
Language Magazines Ohio Reference
Science Spanish Writing


A

About:Books: Searchable database with information about books and authors.

Academic Search Premiere: Collection of academic and professional journals.

African-American Experience in Ohio: Overview of African-Americans' experiences during 1850-1920 in Ohio.

Alt HealthWatch: Articles about complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health.

American and English Literature Collection: Collection of poetry, drama, and prose including the Bible.

Ancestry Library Edition: Access to a wide range of resources for historical and genealogical research. *Available only in the library*

Top

B

Biography Reference Bank: Collection of biographical material from a variety of sources covering over 500,000 people.

Business Source Premier: Access to more than 2,950 scholarly business journals.

Top

C

Chilton Library: Offers the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. Library card needed for home access.

Communication and Mass Media Complete: Access to journals related to communication and mass media.

Computer Source: Access to the latest information and current trends in high technology.

Consumer Health Complete: Full text journals, magazines, and reference books dealing with health, wellness, fitness, and nutrition – coverage includes a focus on the complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health and wellness.

Consumer Reports: Articles and content from the magazine, available for free online. Home users will need a library card for access.

Top

D

Driving-Tests.org: Free permit practice tests.

Top

E

EBSCOHost: See what's available from EBSCO.

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos (World Book): La óptima herramienta de referencia para principiantes del idioma español.

ERIC: Provides access to education literature and resources.

Explore Ohio: Access to the largest source of information about Ohio.

Top

F

FactCite: The Lincoln Library Online: Includes: The Lincoln Library of Sports Champions; The Lincoln Library of Greek and Roman Mythology; The Lincoln Library of Shapers of Society; The Lincoln Library of American History; the Lincoln Library of Biographies; The Lincoln Library of Essential Information.

Facts on File Science Online: Access to science experiments, biographies of scientists, timelines, and more.

Top

G

Gale Genealogy Connect: Sourced from the publications of Genealogical.com, parent company for Genealogical Publishing Company and Clearfield Company, Gale Genealogy Connect features access to reference works that were formerly only available by print or CD-ROM on a standalone eBook platform. The content covers a wide range of topics such as Colonial & Revolutionary, Immigration, and Native American ancestry. Library card needed for home access.

GreenFILE: Access to scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports about the environment.

Top

H

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition: Access to nearly 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.

HeritageQuest: Access to U. S. Census records; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; petitions for naturalization; passenger lists and more. Library card needed for home access.

Hispanica Saber: Gran Enciclopedia Hispanica (World Book): Esta es una completa Enciclopedia en idioma español que incluye mas de 100.000 artículos, más de 8.500 imágenes y mapas, y cerca de 1.000 vídeos, animaciones, sonidos, y medios interactivos.

Top

J

Job and Career Accelerator: Provides personalized, step-by-step job search assistance for all levels of job seekers.This resource will be unavailable after June 30, 2014. Please use Workforce Skills for 21st Century Success instead.

Top

K

Kids Search: Research tool for middle school and elementary age students.

Top

L

Learning Express Library: Provides practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help succeed with academic or licensing tests.

Literary Reference Center: Contains plot summaries, literary criticism, author biographies and interviews, and the full text of thousands of poems and short stories.

Top

M

MAS Ultra: Searchable database of articles for school research.

MasterFILE Premier: Provides full text from over 1,900 magazines - general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multicultural.

MedlinePlus: Access to authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.

Top

N

NetWellness: Provides high-quality information created and evaluated by medical and health professional faculty at the University of Cincinnati, Case Western Reserve University, and The Ohio State University.

Newspaper Source: Read articles from newspapers around the country. Access industry-specific newspapers. Search TV and radio news transcripts.

NoveList Plus: Provides information on over 150,000 fiction and non-fiction titles, and also offers a wide range of feature content including author readalikes, book discussion guides, reading lists and more.

NoveList Plus K-8: Discover fiction and non-fiction titles that are popular with young readers.

Top

O

Ohio.gov: Government information and services.

Ohio Death Certificate Index (1913-1944): Provides information useful in obtaining death certificates.

Ohio Historical Society Searchable Databases: Includes: Civil War Documents, Death Certificates Index, Fundamental Documents, Historical Organizations, African American Experience in Ohio: 1850-1920, Primary Resources for Teachers, and Newspaper Index.

Ohio History Central Encyclopedia: Includes information about Ohio's natural history, prehistory and history.

Ohio Means Jobs: Website to assist with career skills and job search.

Ohio Memory: Ohio's past from prehistory through the present.

Ohio Web Library: Several searchable databases, many with Ohio specific information.

Top

P

Points of View: Providing a balance of materials from all viewpoints, it also includes over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.

Price It!: Price guide for antiques and collectibles.

Professional Development Collection: Most comprehensive and most valuable collection of full text education journals in the world.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Cincinnati Enquirer (1841-1922): Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Library card needed for home access.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection: Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

PubMed: Journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.

Top

R

ReferenceUSA: Information about companies, industries, brands, and marketing.

Regional Business News: Articles from over 75 business journals, newspapers, and newswires, covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States

Religion and Philosophy Collection: Covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

Rocket Languages: Speak and understand a new language like a native, while cutting your study time dramatically.

Top

S

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps: Large scale street plans including building outlines, property boundaries, and building use produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance Company from 1867-1970.

Science Online: Information about a variety of science topics such as chemistry, marine science, and weather.

Science Reference Center: Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife.

Searchasaurus: Search tool designed for children with access to topics like animals, history, health, science, and what's in the news.

Sociological Collection: Provides information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.

Student Research Center: Contains thousands of curriculum-targeted primary documents, biographies, topical essays, background information, critical analyses, full-text coverage of over 300 magazines, newspapers, over 20,000 photographs and illustrations, and more than 8 hours of audio and video clips.

Top

T

TOPICsearch: Allows users to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms.

Top

U

Universal Class: Offers over 500 free online continuing education classes that are led by real instructors.

Top

V

Virtual Reference Library: Collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. Library card needed for home access.

Vocational and Career Collection: Provides full text coverage for nearly 350 trade and industry related periodicals.

Top

W

Workforce Skills for 21st Century Success: Tutorials about workplace skills, job search and resume tools, career test preparation, and GED test preparation.

World Book Early Book of Learning: Contains three learning environments, each targeting a critical area of the development of young learners in early elementary grades.

World Book Kids: Encyclopedia for children.

World Book Online Resource Center: Online version of the World Book Encyclopedia.

World Vital Records: A massive library with billions of Family History and Genealogy records, and millions of family trees. Access key collections: COMPLETE U.S. Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1940; military records; enhanced Social Security Death Index (SSDI) records; millions of newspaper articles; unique, exclusive local and international collections.

Top