Staff Picks: Non-Fiction 2009

Fresh Every Day: More Great Recipes from Foster’s Market
By Foster, Sara
Photographer Bacon, Quentin
With Carreno, Carolynn
Check Our Catalog

Fresh. Flavorful. Unpretentious. Food this good doesn’t need much of an introduction, and the inspired, down-home fare served at Foster’s Market speaks for itself . . . and keeps the locals coming back day after day.
In “Fresh Every Day, Sara Foster continues the tradition of soulful, seasonally inspired cooking, with more than two hundred of the New Southern recipes made famous at her eponymous markets. She adapts the skills and secrets of a successful professional kitchen for dishes and flavors that speak to the way we really cook at home, from slow-cooked stews and roasted chicken to burgers and salad meals born of leftovers. No elaborate techniques or esoteric ingredients here–just good home cooking elevated to company fare. Cornbread Panzanella with Avocado. Pan-Roasted Halibut with Cherry Tomatoes and Butternut Squash. Fall Off the Bone Baby Back Ribs. Molasses Sweet Potato Pie. “Take these recipes,” Sara invites, “take everything you know and feel about food, and have fun cooking.”
A cookbook for all seasons bursting with recipes easy enough for any day of the week,” Fresh Every Day brings new meaning to comfort food.

The Illustrated Kitchen Bible
By DK Publishing
Author Hafner, Brigitte
Author Blashford-Snell, Victoria
Check Our Catalog

For anyone who wants cooking to be less complicated and more enjoyable–and who is looking to increase his or her kitchen repertoire and develop new skills, “The Kitchen Bible” is a tremendous source of 1,000 delicious, achievable, and international recipes, with sumptuous photography, precise text, and innovative ideas.

The Glass Castle: A Memoir
By Walls, Jeannette
Check Our Catalog

Winner – 2006 ALA Notable Non-Fiction Selection
Alex Award Winner – 2006
In the tradition of Mary Karr’s The Liars’ Club and Rick Bragg’s All Over But the Shouting, Jeannette Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric and severely misguided family.

Columbine
By Cullen, Dave
Check Our Catalog BookPage Notable Title

Ten years in the making and a masterpiece of reportage, “Columbine” is an award-winning journalist’s definitive account of one of the most shocking massacres in American history.

In Defense of Food: An Eater’s Manifesto
By Pollan, Michael
Check Our Catalog BookPage Notable Title

From the author of the bestselling “The Omnivore’s Dilemma” comes this bracing and eloquent manifesto that shows readers how they might start making thoughtful food choices that can enrich their lives and enlarge their sense of what it means to be healthy. (Consumer Health)

The Dog Listener: A Noted Expert Tells You How to Communicate with Your Dog for Willing Cooperation
By Fennell, Jan
Introduction by Roberts, Monty
Check Our Catalog

With an Introduction by world-famous “horse-whisperer” Monty Roberts, this practical guide explores the fascinating, hidden body language of dogs, which acclaimed pet trainer Fennell uses to positively change the behavior of even the most difficult canine.

Lone Survivor: The Eyewitness Account of Operation Redwing and the Lost Heroes of Seal Team 10
By Luttrell, Marcus
With Robinson, Patrick
Check Our Catalog

Four U.S. Navy SEALs fought to the death against 150 armed Taliban in the Afghan mountains. Now, two years later, the lone SEAL survivor pens this spellbinding, first-hand account, a heartbreaking, yet inspiring story of heroism, courage, and sacrifice. 8-page b & w photo insert.

The Ghost Map: The Story of London’s Most Terrifying Epidemic–And How It Changed Science, Cities, and the Modern World
By Johnson, Steven
Check Our Catalog A BookPage Notable Title

This thrilling historical account of the worst cholera outbreak in Victorian London is a brilliant exploration of how Dr. John Snow’s solution revolutionized the way we think about disease, cities, science, and the modern world.

The 5000 Year Leap: A Miracle That Changed the World
By Skousen, W. Cleon
Check Our Catalog
Plain Secrets: An Outsider Among the Amish
By Mackall, Joe
Check Our Catalog

Journalist Mackall writes about his surprising friendship with an Amish family trying to live a simple life in a complex world.

The Backyard Homestead: Produce All the Food You Need on Just a Quarter Acre!
By Madigan, Carleen
Check Our Catalog

In the information-rich tradition of “Storey’s Basic Country Skills,” here is a reliable compendium of advice on how to feed our families using plants and animals raised at home. Illustrations throughout.

The Year My Son and I Were Born: A Story of Down Syndrome, Motherhood, and Self-Discovery
By Soper, Kathryn L.
Foreword by Bauer, Patricia E.
Check Our Catalog

Advance Praise for The Year My Son and I Were Born
“Taking us through her first year as the mother of a child with Down syndrome, Kathryn Soper shares the contradictory emotions, self-doubts, and even spiritual questions that many parents experience during that time but rarely admit even to friends. Along the way, her graceful, unsentimental, and gently humorous writing takes us through many struggles: navigating unfamiliar medical terrain, nurturing her six older children, keeping her marriage intact, and, above all else, accepting her son for who he is. In the end, she comes to see how to live life in a new way–and so did I.”
–Rachel Simon, author of “Riding the Bus with My Sister” “”The Year My Son and I Were Born” is a story of how sometimes life’s lessons come at great personal cost–but that if we allow our hearts to open, even a mother’s deepest despair can be transformed.”
–Jennifer Graf Groneberg, author of “Road Map to Holland”

A Bound Man: Why We Are Excited about Obama and Why He Can’t Win
By Steele, Shelby
Check Our Catalog

From “New York Times” bestselling and controversial author Steele comes the illuminating examination of the complex racial issues surrounding presidential candidate Barack Obama.

Clara’s War: One Girl’s Story of Survival
By Kramer, Clara
With Glantz, Stephen
Check Our Catalog

The publication of Kramer’s heartwrenching memoir of survival–hiding from the Nazis in an underground bunker with 17 other people–coincides with the observation of Holocaust Remembrance Day, April 21, 2009. b&w photo insert.

Stolen Innocence: My Story of Growing Up in a Polygamous Sect, Becoming a Teenage Bride, and Breaking Free of Warren Jeffs
By Wall, Elissa
With Pulitzer, Lisa
Check Our Catalog

In this shocking, timely, and inspirational memoir, Elissa Wall details her life growing up in the polygamous Fundamentalist Latter Day Saints religious sect, being forced into an unwanted marriage at the age of 14, and her courage to testify against FLDS leader Warren Jeffs.

Losing Mum and Pup: A Memoir
By Buckley, Christopher
Check Our Catalog

Bestselling author Buckley’s most personal and transcendent work–the tragicomic true story of the year in which he lost both of his parents. The author offers consolation, wit, and warmth to those coping with the death of a mother or father.

Leave a Reply