Barbara Kingsolver

Novelist Barbara Kingsolver will be presented this year with the newly renamed Richard C. Holbrooke Distinguished Achievement Award by the Dayton Literary Peace Prize.

First awarded in 2006 and based on the peace accords drawn up in Dayton, Ohio, to end the war in Bosnia, the Dayton Literary Peace Prize is presented  to draw attention to works of literature, both fiction and nonfiction, that expand understanding of other peoples and cultures. Studs Terkel, Geraldine Brooks and Elie Wiesel are previous recipients of the lifetime achievement award, now named for Richard Holbrooke, the U.S. diplomat who was essential in negotiating the Dayton Peace Accords and who passed away in December.

Barbara Kingsolver books in our collection.

Leave a Reply