Hugo Award Winners

hugo awardThis year’s Hugo Awards were announced at Renovation, the 69th World Science Fiction Convention, in Reno, Nevada.

This year’s winners are:

Best Novel: Blackout/All Clear by Connie Willis (Ballantine Spectra)

Best Novella: The Lifecycle of Software Objects by Ted Chiang (Subterranean)

Best Novelette: “The Emperor of Mars” by Allen M. Steele (Asimov’s Science Fiction, June 2010)

Best Short Story: “For Want of a Nail” by Mary Robinette Kowal (Asimov’s Science Fiction, September 2010)

Best Related Work: Chicks Dig Time Lords: A Celebration of Doctor Who by the Women Who Love It edited by Lynne M. Thomas and Tara O’Shea (Mad Norwegian)

Best Graphic Story: Girl Genius, Volume 10: Agatha Heterodyne and the Guardian Muse written by Phil and Kaja Foglio; art by Phil Foglio; colors by Cheyenne Wright (Airship Entertainment)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form: Inception written and directed by Christopher Nolan (Warner)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form: Doctor Who: “The Pandorica Opens/The Big Bang” written by Steven Moffat; directed by Toby Haynes (BBC Wales)

Best Editor, Short Form: Sheila Williams

Best Editor, Long Form: Lou Anders

Best Professional Artist: Shaun Tan

Best Semiprozine: Clarkesworld edited by Neil Clarke, Cheryl Morgan, Sean Wallace; podcast directed by Kate Baker

Best Fanzine: The Drink Tank edited by Christopher J Garcia and James Bacon

Best Fan Writer: Claire Brialey

Best Fan Artist: Brad W. Foster

The John W. Campbell Award for Best New SF Writer: Lev Grossman

Leave a Reply