LibraryReads List – March 2014

 

Good reads suggested by librarians.

Good reads suggested by librarians.

Library Reads features the top ten books published this month that librarians across the country love.

The Weight of Blood by Laura McHugh

“The Dane family has been keeping secrets in the Ozark town of Henbane for years. An outsider steals the heart of one of the Dane brothers, and the secrets threaten to unravel. When sixteen-year-old Lucy’s friend is found murdered after being missing for a year, Lucy begins to ask questions–the answers to which may destroy her family. Atmospheric and visceral, McHugh’s story is vividly and effectively told.”   –Jennifer Winberry, Hunterdon County Library, Flemington, NJ

The Accident by Chris Pavone

“Kudos to Pavone for coming through with another captivating international suspense novel. How ironic that I couldn’t put down a book about Isabel, a literary agent who stays up all night to finish an unsolicited manuscript that’s so explosive, some will kill to keep it from being published. During the 24 hours that Isabel is on the run, readers will be on the edge of their seats. Be prepared to lose some sleep!”  –Paulette Brooks, Elm Grove Public Library, Elm Grove, WI

The Divorce Papers by Susan Rieger

“When Sophie, a loveable 29-year-old lawyer, gets roped into working on a divorce case, her life takes an unexpected turn. Though this gives her a new perspective on life, it also forces her to confront some unresolved childhood issues. Except for a few tearful, poignant moments, I had a smile on my face for the entire book. Engaging and humorous, this debut epistolary novel has become a favorite read.”  –Jennifer Asimakopoulos, Indian Prairie Public Library, Darien, IL

outcast deadThe Outcast Dead by Elly Griffiths

“After the bones of the notorious Mother Hook are possibly uncovered in Norfolk, forensic archaeologist Ruth Galloway finds herself on the TV. Was Mother Hook truly guilty of child murder?  This is just one strand in a mystery that revolves around children and the people who care for them. One of the most addictive mystery series being written today.”  –Janet Lockhart, Wake County Public Libraries, Cary, NC

Panic by Lauren Oliver

“A deadly high-stakes game of Panic takes place in modern-day small town America, and Oliver does a wonderful job making all of it seem real. I loved that the book didn’t take place in a post-apocalyptic future like so many titles do nowadays. Oliver is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors. I can’t wait to see what she comes up with next!”  –Carol Brumfield, Timberland Regional Library, Tumwater, WA

A Circle of Wives by Alice LaPlante

“When prominent plastic surgeon Dr. John Taylor is found dead, the police investigation uncovers his secret polygamous life. As the narration alternates between Taylor’s three wives and a young female detective, the story explores the characters’ motivations and relationships. Part psychological thriller and part literary mystery, the end result is wholly captivating reading.”  –Melissa DeWild, Kent District Library, Comstock Park, MI

geminiGemini by Carol Cassella

“After an unidentified hit-and-run victim is received in ICU, Dr. Charlotte Reese struggles to keep her alive, questioning how far medical technology should go to do so. Meanwhile, in an alternate story, teens Bo and Raney explore their budding friendship and attraction. Book groups will devour this compulsively readable novel with thought-provoking themes. Perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult and Chris Bohjalian.”  –Robin Beerbower, Salem Public Library, Salem, OR

Precious Thing by Colette McBeth

“Clara and Rachel have been friends since high school. Life has intervened and they’ve grown apart, so when Clara invites Rachel for drinks to catch up, it’s a chance to reconnect. But before that can happen, Rachel is called to cover a missing girl story, and the missing girl is Clara. Was she abducted, murdered or did she simply leave on her own?  In the vein of Gone Girl and The Husband’s Secret, this is a fast read that is sure to entertain.”  –Robin Nesbitt, Columbus Metropolitan Library, Columbus, OH

Kill Fee by Owen Laukkanen

“In the third book in this series, Carla Windermere and Kirk Stevens find themselves reunited when people around the country seem to be dying from contract hits. Young war veterans, under the influence of a mysterious man, are turning into emotionless killers. Stevens and Windermere try piecing together who’s behind the crimes, but keep falling one step behind. Reminiscent of Thomas Perry’s novels, and fast-paced.”  –Lora Bruggeman, Indian Prairie Public Library, Darien, IL

Show Your Work!: 10 Ways to Share Your Creativity and Get Discovered by Austin Kleon

Show Your Work! is a wonderful follow-up to Austin Kleon’s first book, Steal Like an Artist. Utilizing the same fun, graphic novel-ish type of format, Kleon gives practical recommendations about using the Internet and social media to create a community. I particularly appreciate his advice to concentrate on process, not on product, and the rest will follow. A must-read for anyone involved in the creative process.”  –Rebekka Hanson, Madison Library District, Rexburg, ID

SqKSlrmPxYKKKKQBRRRQAUUUUAFFFFABRRRQAUUUlMZVPSuabHf6fSukY4UmucPB5NdaMj5+ f/kaLdvWzlH/AI+lfSQB5yefXFeCsM+IYWB4FpIPzdf8K+giwyRk/WtTAjwD74p+CD9akz2qYEZ6 1mMQ+nerFR5qzXObCU6iiszQKKKKQBRRRQAUUUUAFFFFAHzD4iKDQLsyEhNnzEHmtnRyX0CxJOSY E5P0FZfiH/kB3OUDjbyh6N7V0WmOraHaMEEYMKYUDheBxXp9D9d/5hl/i/Q9pT7gq9WdH9xec8Vo 1wM/KHuFFFFZmIUUUUAFFFFABRRRQAUUUUAFFFFABXm2oX9tpdhNe3cgjghUszV6TX4samH8Za+m lQ7xo9hIJLuYYxNIDxGD/M/Wvp6UFJ67Lc8qcrLTc6L4f6ZIljfa/eQCO+1q4a6YEfMkfRFz9Ofx r9hajAAAAGAOgFSVyVJucnJm0Y8qsFFFJXiHeLRRRSAKKKKACiiigAooooAKKKKACiiigAooooAK KKKACiiigBmKfRRTEFFFFIYUUUUAFFFFABRRRQAUUUUAFFFFABRRRQAUUUUAFFFFABRRRQAUUUUA FR45qSimAUUUUgIyM0+lopgFFFFIAooooAKKKKAEpKdRTAbSYFPooAiwPQU7A9KfRTAiwCOgpMD0 FTUUAMwKj2j0FT0UARYHoKbtHoKnooASkxTqKQDMCo9o9B+VT0UwINo9BUexT/CPyq3RTEUdiEY2 r+VNMaHqin8K0KKdxFHYn91fyp2xf7o/KrlFFwKmxcY2j8qTYoGNo/KrlFFxlPYufuj8ql2j0FT0 UgIsD0FRbVH8I/KrVFAFfaB2H5UbQeoH5VYooAo7E4+VePapNq4xtH5Vaop3AplFPVR+VVjFGeqK ceorVoouIy/Kj/uL+VSeWn9xfyrQop3YHPfZ4f8AnjH/AN8ipRBEOkSD/gIrcoq7szsjG8mLGPLT /vkVIIowchFz06Vq0VN2VYxzDEW3GNM+u0VCYIWBDRIQeoKjmt6ii7Cxh+RFjHlJj02iqotoAMCG MAdtorpqKq7IsjA8iHj90nH+yKzxaWwORbxA/wC4K6+iquxWRy32W3Gf3EXzdfkHNILW3HSCIf8A ABXVUUczFZHMfZoNwbyY9w77RUH2S2/594vX7grrqKfM+4cqONNpbMcm3iJ9SgqL7Fa7dv2aLb6b Biu3oquZ9yeVdjhRZWgGBbQ/98Crv2W3znyIs/7grraKXM+4cq7HGGztmGGt4iB2KCsz+z7Lj/RI eOnyCvRqKrml3I5Y9jzYadZAAC0h4GPuCpP7Ps8Y+yw4/wBwV6LRV88u5PJHscMbK1brbRHt9wVT On2ZUL9liwOnyCvRaKnml3K5Y9jzT+zrIH/j1h6Y+4Ks/YLMjH2WHH+4K9Cop80u5PJHseXjTbIH ItYs/wC6KjbTLFs5tYuevy16pRV88u5HJHseTtpdixBNrHwMDinf2ZZcf6NHx0yK9Wopc8u5XJHs eVnTLIkE2sWQMfdqFtLsWIJtkyK9aop88u4uSPY8oGmWQAAt0wOntSDTLIZ/0dOTnmvWKKXPLuPk j2PHm0qxckm2TninHSrA/wDLrH+Vev0Vpzy7kckex5GdLsSMfZ04rN/siywR5JGfRz/jXt1FHPLu Lkj2PEDpFltVfLI29CHOf51Y/smyzzDnr1Y9/wAa9noqeeXcrkj2PHv7KstxPk5J9WP+NH9lWQII hwR6Mf8AGvYaKfPLuLkj2PEjpFkesRz0zvb/ABqUaVahQoEoA6Ylb/GvaKKv2k+5PJHseH/2RZ44 WQe/mN/jTP7ItOOJQR6SsP617nRVe0n3F7OPY8G/se0H/Pb/AL/N/jT/AOyLXbtzNjOT+9bn9a92 op+0n3F7OHY8KGkWqhgPNwTn/Wtx+taP9l2vmCQq5Yesh/xr2Si