3 Buzzy Books for January

3 Buzzy Books for January

This is always a great time of year in Book Land – lots of books by bestselling authors and hot new debuts are published in December as part of the gift-giving season. So January is the perfect time to slow down after the holidays and catch up on reading. The perfect way to chase away the winter doldrums! What could be better on a winter day than a hot, new book and a cup of tea (or the toasty beverage of your choice)?

Buzzy book recommendations

The Starless Sea

The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern.  Her first novel, The Night Circus, was an absolute favorite of mine when it debuted. So when I heard her second book was coming out, I was totally ready and waiting!

From the publisher, “Zachary Ezra Rawlins is a graduate student in Vermont when he discovers a rare book hidden in the stacks. As he turns the pages, entranced by tales of lovelorn prisoners, key collectors, and nameless acolytes, he reads something strange: a story from his own childhood. Bewildered by this inexplicable book and desperate to make sense of how his own life came to be recorded, Zachary uncovers a series of clues–a bee, a key, and a sword–that lead him to a masquerade party in New York, to a secret club, and through a doorway to a subterranean library, hidden far below the surface of the earth.

What Zachary finds in this curious place is more than just a buried home for books and their guardians–it is a place of lost cities and seas of honey, lovers who pass notes under doors and across time, and of stories whispered by the dead. Zachary learns of those who have sacrificed much to protect this realm, relinquishing their sight and their tongues to preserve this archive, and also those who are intent on its destruction.

Together with Mirabel, a fierce, pink-haired protector of the place, and Dorian, a beautiful barefoot man with shifting alliances, Zachary travels the twisting tunnels, darkened stairwells, crowded ballrooms, and sweetly-soaked shores of this magical world, discovering his purpose–in both the rare book and in his own life.”

For fans of Neil Gaiman, Laini Taylor, and Lev Grossman.

NoveList Plus Readalikes for The Starless Sea

The Deep

The Deep by Solomon Rivers. Hamilton fans, this book is based on a song by Daveed Diggs’ rap group, Clipping. From the publisher, “The water-breathing descendants of African slave women tossed overboard have built their own underwater society — and must reclaim the memories of their past to shape their future. Yetu holds the memories for her people — water-dwelling descendants of pregnant African slave women thrown overboard by slave owners — who live idyllic lives in the deep.

Their past, too traumatic to be remembered regularly, is forgotten by everyone, save one — the historian. This demanding role has been bestowed on Yetu. Yetu remembers for everyone, and the memories, painful and wonderful, traumatic and terrible and miraculous, are destroying her. And so, she flees to the surface, escaping the memories, the expectations, and the responsibilities — and discovers a world her people left behind long ago.

Yetu will learn more than she ever expected to about her own past — and about the future of her people. If they are all to survive, they’ll need to reclaim the memories, reclaim their identity — and own who they really are.”

For fans of Wayetu Moore, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, and Seth Dickinson.

NoveList Plus Readalikes for The Deep

The Bromance Book Club

The Bromance Book Club by Lyssa Kay Adams. This book sounds like escapism perfection. From the publisher, “When his wife asks for a divorce, Nashville Legends second baseman Gavin Scott finds help from an unlikely source: a secret romance book club made up of Nashville’s top alpha men. With the help of their current read, a steamy Regency titled Courting the Countess, the guys coach Gavin on saving his marriage. But it’ll take a lot more than flowery words and grand gestures for this hapless Romeo to find his inner hero and win back the trust of his wife.”

For fans of Curtis Sittenfeld and Jennifer Crusie.

NoveList Plus Readalikes for The Bromance Book Club

Conclusion

This is the perfect time of year to unwind with a buzzy book. Destress with a hot new title and the warm beverage of your choice.

You might also enjoy

Website Specialist, social media enthusiast, content strategist, marketing aficionado.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *