Five read-alikes to keep you busy this spring

Five read-alikes to keep you busy this spring

When I read something that I end up loving, I want to recreate the feeling the book has given me. Enter Read-alikes! In 2019 we had many great books checked out from our libraries, and I’ve heard a lot about 2019’s big books from our patrons. Here are five read-alikes for some of our highest checkouts from 2019. Check out our eBook and eAudiobook selections, too!

 

Where the Crawdads SingIf you liked … Where the Crawdads Sing, by Delia Owens

Viewed with suspicion in the aftermath of a tragedy, a beautiful hermit who has survived for years in a marsh becomes targeted by unthinkable forces.

 

The Great AloneTry … The Great Alone, by Kristin Hannah

When her volatile, former POW father impulsively moves the family to mid-1970s Alaska to live off the land, young Leni and her mother are forced to confront the dangers of their lack of preparedness in the wake of a dangerous winter season.

 

If you liked … The Silent Patient, by Alex MichaelidesThe Silent Patient

A therapist becomes dangerously obsessed with uncovering the truth about what prompted his client, an artist who refuses to speak, to violently murder her husband in a way that triggers mass public speculation.

 

Try … Sometimes I Lie,Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney

Amber wakes up in a hospital. She can’t move. She can’t speak. She can’t open her eyes. She can hear everyone around her, but they have no idea. Amber doesn’t remember what happened, but she has a suspicion her husband had something to do with it. Alternating between her paralyzed present, the week before her accident, and a series of childhood diaries from twenty years ago, this brilliant psychological thriller asks: Is something really a lie if you believe it’s the truth?

 

If you liked Educated Educated: a Memoir, by Tara Westover

Traces the author’s experiences as a child born to survivalists in the mountains of Idaho, describing her participation in her family’s paranoid stockpiling activities and her resolve to educate herself well enough to earn an acceptance into a prestigious university and the unfamiliar world beyond.

 

Try … The SoundThe Sound of Gravel of Gravel: a Memoir, by Ruth Wariner

An account of the author’s coming-of-age in a polygamist Mormon Doomsday cult describes her childhood on a Mexico hill farm as one of her father’s more than 40 welfare-dependent children, the extreme religious beliefs that haunted her daily life and her escape in the aftermath of a devastating tragedy.

 

If you likeLittle Fires Everywhered … Little Fires Everywhere, by Celeste Ng

Fighting an ugly custody battle with an artistic tenant who has little regard for the strict rules of their progressive Cleveland suburb, a straitlaced family woman who is seeking to adopt a baby becomes obsessed with exposing the tenant’s past, only to trigger devastating consequences for both of their families.

 

Try … AAsk Again, Yessk Again, Yes, by Mary Beth Keane

A profoundly moving novel about two neighboring families in a suburb outside New York City, the lifelong friendship and love that blossoms between their children hat is tested again and again, a tragedy that reverberates over four decades, and the power of forgiveness.

 

 

If you liked … The GuaThe Guardiansrdians, by John Grisham

Guardian handles only a few innocence cases at a time, and Cullen Post is its only investigator. He travels the South fighting wrongful convictions and taking cases no one else will touch. With Quincy Miller, though, he gets far more than he bargained for. Powerful, ruthless people murdered Keith Russo, and they do not want Quincy exonerated. They killed one lawyer twenty-two years ago, and they will kill another one without a second thought.

Try … Blood MoBlood Moneyney, by James Grippando

A nation is obsessed with a hot nightclub waitress accused of murdering her two-year-old daughter. The shocking verdict creates an immediate uproar. But when an innocent, young woman ends up dead in a riot, there may be something bigger at work for Miami criminal defense attorney Jack Swyteck.

 

Skye is a library assistant specialist at the Williamsburg branch library. She enjoys cats, horror, and of course, reading.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *