3 Fun and Flirty Reads for February

3 Fun and Flirty Reads for February

Did you know that romance is the most popular fiction genre by far? And if romance novel conjures up the image of hero with the heroine swept into his embrace as her hair and dress blow artfully in the wind, that’s not romance in 2020. Romance now is everything from retelling of mythological stories to futuristic thrillers. Not just limited to Happily Ever Afters (HEA) – romances now often have Happy For Now (HFN) endings. Romance is also more diverse than ever before too. Whether you like contemporary stories, historical, thrillers, fantasy or science fiction, there’s a romance out there for you.

These are a few of my recent favorite flirty reads.

Meet Cute

Meet Cute by Helena Hunting.

From the publisher, “Talk about an embarrassing introduction. On her first day of law school, Kailyn ran – quite literally – into the actor she crushed on as a teenager, ending with him sprawled on top of her. Mortified to discover the Daxton Hughes was also a student in her class, her embarrassment over their meet-cute quickly turned into a friendship she never expected. Of course, she never saw his betrayal coming either…

Now, eight years later, Dax is in her office asking for legal advice. Despite her anger, Kailyn can’t help feeling sorry for the devastated man who just became sole guardian to his thirteen-year-old sister. If Kailyn can get Dax to work at her firm, her boss will promote her to partner.

The more time Kailyn spends with Dax and his sister, the more she starts to feel like a family, and the more she realizes the chemistry they had all those years ago is as fresh as ever. But will they be able to forgive the mistakes of the past, or will one betrayal lead to another?”

For fans of Jill Shalvis and Christina Lauren.

Not the Girl You Marry by Andie Christopher.

From the publisher, “Jack Nolan is a gentleman, a journalist, and a would-be investigative reporter. Due to a combination of good looks and lucky (or unlucky?) breaks, he’sĀ  the how-to guy for a buzzy, internet media company. What he really wants is to cover hard-hitting politics. Fed up with his fluffy job and the app-based dating scene as well, he reluctantly agrees to write an article on how to lose a girl in two weeks. Easier said than done when the subject of his experiment is Hannah Mayfield, and he’s not sure he wants to lose her…

Hannah is an extremely successful event planner. She’s focused on climbing the career ladder. Her firm is one of the most prestigious in the city, and she’s determined to secure her next promotion. She’s made a name for herself as the go-to Girl Friday for any event that’s likely to get raucous. But the somewhat prickly Hannah has a bit of an image problem: she needs to prove to her boss that she has range, including dreaded, romantic wedding receptions, if she wants a corner office.

When she meets Jack, he seems like the perfect man to test her romance knowledge on. Little does she know, he also has an ulterior motive.”

For fans of Jasmine Guillory and Jennifer Crusie.

Red, White & Royal Blue

Red, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston.

 

From the publisher, “When his mother was elected President, Alex Claremont-Diaz was promptly cast as the American equivalent of a young royal. Handsome, charismatic, genius–his image is pure millennial-marketing gold for the White House. There’s only one problem: Alex has a beef with an actual prince, Henry, across the pond. And when the tabloids get hold of a photo involving an Alex-Henry altercation, U.S./British relations take a turn for the worse.

Heads of family, state, and other handlers devise a plan for damage control: staging a truce between the two rivals. What at first begins as a fake, Instragramable friendship grows deeper, and more dangerous, than either Alex or Henry could have imagined.

Soon Alex finds himself hurtling into a secret romance with a surprisingly unstuffy Henry that could derail the campaign and upend two nations and begs the question: Can love save the world after all? Where do we find the courage, and the power, to be the people we are meant to be? And how can we learn to let our true colors shine through.”

For fans of Kevin Kwan and Tif Marcelo.

 

Conclusion

Whether you’re a long-time romance fan or new to the genre, try one of these engaging, heart-warming and flirty reads!

You might also enjoy

Booklovers Podcast Episode 5: Romance

8 Romances for Non-Romance Readers

Website Specialist, social media enthusiast, content strategist, marketing aficionado.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *