Gone Girl Readalikes

womanreadingDid you enjoy the dark, disturbing complex plotting of Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl? Me too! Which means I’ve devoured her other books, Sharp Objects and Dark Places. I’ve also read authors that are often compared to her: Liane Moriarty, ASA Harrison, Tana French and Minette Walters. I’m on the waiting list for Girl on the Train but I wanted something I could read now to get my psychological thriller fix. What to do?

Young Adult Gone Girl Readalikes

And then it occurred to me. Young adult titles! So after reading a bunch of reviews and descriptions, I took home a pile of YA books. I’ve discovered that there are young adult books that are every bit as complex as Gone Girl. So, if you’re behind me on the hold list for Girl on a Train or you’ve already read it, try one of these books while you’re waiting for Gillian Flynn’s next book:

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. Welcome to the beautiful Sinclair family. No one in the family is a failure. No one is a psycho. No one is a criminal. The Sinclairs have vacationed on private Beechwood Island for generations. Not one of Granddad’s precious daughters has ever missed a summer, nor have any of his grandchildren. Until Cadence Sinclair Eastman. Two years ago she fell in love and had a serious accident. Now she is fragile. Cadence thought she knew her own story, but now, back on Beechwood Island, she suspects that she knows nothing. In fact, nothing is what it seems.  Cadence struggles to remember what happened during her fifteenth summer. Slowly, the pieces begin to fall into place as the horror and tension mount.

Liar by Justine Larbalestier.  This one adds a bit of supernatural to the mix. Compulsive liar Micah promises to tell the truth after revealing that her boyfriend has been murdered.

Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver. Dara and Nick were inseparable, but that was before the accident that left Dara’s beautiful face scarred and the two sisters totally estranged. When Dara vanishes on her birthday, Nick thinks Dara is just playing around. But another girl, nine-year-old Madeline Snow, has vanished, too, and Nick becomes increasingly convinced that the two disappearances are linked. Now Nick has to find her sister, before it’s too late.

Who writes your favorite psychological thrillers?

Website Specialist, social media enthusiast, content strategist, marketing aficionado.