If You Like Divergent, Try One of These

If You Like Divergent, Try One of These

Divergent and its sequels remain some of the books that are checked out the most often in our library system. If you’re on the waiting list or you’ve already read them, loved them and want something similar, try these suggestions.

Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa.

Why: Both books have strong female main characters dealing with a dystopian future. Immortal Rules adds the supernatural to the mix.

The story: Allison Sekemoto survives in the Fringe, the outermost circle of a vampire city, until she too becomes an immortal vampire. Forced to flee into the unknown, outside her city walls, she joins a ragged band of humans who are seeking a legend — a possible cure to the disease that killed off most of humankind and created the rabids, the mindless creatures who threaten humans and vampires alike.

Plus One by Elizabeth Fama.

Why: Both books are set in alternate USAs and feature strong female leads. Plus One’s story mixes a bit more romance into  the intrigue, danger, and revolution.

The story: In an alternate United States where Day and Night populations are forced to lead separate–but not equal–lives, a desperate Night girl falls for a seemingly privileged Day boy and places them both in danger as she gets caught up in the beginnings of a resistance movement.

The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau.

Why: Both books are fast paced dystopian stories with  strong female main characters.

The story: It’s graduation day for sixteen-year-old Malencia Vale, and the entire Five Lakes Colony (the former Great Lakes) is celebrating. All Cia can think about–hope for–is whether she’ll be chosen for The Testing, a United Commonwealth program that selects the best and brightest new graduates to become possible leaders of the slowly revitalizing post-war civilization. When Cia is chosen, her father finally tells her about his own nightmarish half-memories of The Testing. Armed with his dire warnings (“Cia, trust no one”), she bravely heads off to Tosu City, far away from friends and family, perhaps forever. Danger, romance–and sheer terror–await.

Website Specialist, social media enthusiast, content strategist, marketing aficionado.