5 Most Popular Fiction Titles of 2019

5 Most Popular Fiction Titles of 2019

For Clermont County readers, 2019 was a year of perennial favorites making the most popular fiction list. The number one bestseller in the country, Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens was a big hit locally with book groups. and it received fantastic word of mouth from many (including my mom!). It was also no surprise that books by bestselling authors James Patterson, David Baldacci, Karin Slaughter, and Stephen King rounded out the list of top fiction titles. Did your favorite read of 2019 make the list?

All of the titles listed are available in multiple formats including physical, audiobook, and eBook.

Most popular fiction

Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens was the most popular fiction title at the Clermont County Public Library. And it’s still going strong!

 

From the publisher, “For years, rumors of the “Marsh Girl” have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. She’s barefoot and wild; unfit for polite society. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark. But Kya is not what they say. Abandoned at age ten, she has survived on her own in the marsh that she calls home. A born naturalist with just one day of school, she takes life lessons from the land, learning from the false signals of fireflies the real way of this world. But while she could have lived in solitude forever, the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. Drawn to two young men from town, who are each intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new and startling world–until the unthinkable happens.”

 

NoveList Plus Readalikes for Where the Crawdads Sing

The Inn by James Patterson

The Inn by James Patterson comes in at the second most popular fiction title.

 

From the publisher, “The Inn at Gloucester stands alone on the rocky shoreline. Its seclusion suits former Boston police detective Bill Robinson, novice owner and innkeeper.Then Mitchell Cline arrives, with a deadly new way of doing business. His crew of local killers break laws, deal drugs, and bring violence to the doors of the Inn. That’s when Robinson realizes, with the help of journalist Susan Solie, that leaving the city is no escape from the reality of evil — or the responsibility for action.

 

Teaming up with Sheriff Spears and two fearless residents — Army veteran Nick Jones and groundskeeper Effie Johnson — Robinson begins a risky defense. The solitary inhabitants of the Inn will have to learn, before time runs out, that their only choice is between standing together — or dying alone.”

 

NoveList Plus Readalikes for The Inn

Redemption by David Baldacci

Redemption by David Baldacci was the third most popular fiction book.

 

From the publisher, “Amos Decker and his FBI partner Alex Jamison are visiting his hometown of Burlington, Ohio, when he’s approached by an unfamiliar man. But he instantly recognizes the man’s name: Meryl Hawkins. He’s the first person Decker ever arrested for murder back when he was a young detective. Though a dozen years in prison have left Hawkins unrecognizably aged and terminally ill, one thing hasn’t changed: He maintains he never committed the murders. Could it be possible that Decker made a mistake all those years ago? As he starts digging into the old case, Decker finds a startling connection to a new crime that he may be able to prevent, if only he can put the pieces together quickly enough… ”

 

NoveList Plus Readalikes for Redemption

The Institute by Stephen King

The Institute by Stephen King. From the publisher, “In the middle of the night, in a house on a quiet street in suburban Minneapolis, intruders silently murder Luke Ellis’s parents and load him into a black SUV. The operation takes less than two minutes.

 

Luke will wake up at The Institute, in a room that looks just like his own, except there’s no window. And outside his door are other doors, behind which are other kids with special talents–telekinesis and telepathy–who got to this place the same way Luke did: Kalisha, Nick, George, Iris, and ten-year-old Avery Dixon. They are all in Front Half. Others, Luke learns, graduated to Back Half, “like the roach motel,” Kalisha says. “You check in, but you don’t check out.” In this most sinister of institutions, the director, Mrs. Sigsby, and her staff are ruthlessly dedicated to extracting from these children the force of their extranormal gifts. There are no scruples here. If you go along, you get tokens for the vending machines. If you don’t, punishment is brutal.

As each new victim disappears to Back Half, Luke becomes more and more desperate to get out and get help. But no one has ever escaped from the Institute.”

 

NoveList Plus Readalikes for The Institute

The Last Widow by Karin Slaughter

The Last Widow by Karin Slaughter rounds out our top five most popular fiction books of 2019.

 

From the publisher, “On a serene summer Sunday, a routine admission for a run-of-the-mill surgery at Atlanta’s Emory Hospital goes tragically wrong, setting off a catastrophic wave of destruction that sends the facility and the surrounding area into lockdown.

 

One of the city’s largest and most prestigious institutions, Emory is situated near the Centers for Disease Control, the FBI counter-terrorism headquarters, and a large children’s hospital. Anything that happens there has repercussions for the entire city, the state of Georgia, and possibly the entire nation. A few miles away, medical examiner Sara Linton is enduring an awkward lunch with her mother, her aunt, and her boyfriend Will Trent, an agent with the Georgia Bureau of Investigation. But the sudden wail of sirens blaring in the distance cuts the uncomfortable get-together short, drawing her and Will to the scene.

 

Within an hour the situation at Emory has spiraled out of control-Sara has been taken prisoner and Will forced undercover, on a case in which thousands of lives are at stake. That “routine admission” at Emory was the opening maneuver in a perilous game of hunter and prey that leads him out of Atlanta into the Appalachians, to a remote compound where a radical group has hatched a diabolical plan for murder on a massive scale that will rock the nation if it isn’t stopped.”

 

NoveList Plus Readalikes for The Last Widow

Conclusion

So, what were your most popular fiction reads of 2019? Let us know in the comments.

You might also enjoy

Most popular book so far in 2019

Enjoy one of the most popular cookbooks of 2017

Most Popular Fiction 2016

Website Specialist, social media enthusiast, content strategist, marketing aficionado.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *