Stuart Woods Readalikes

Stuart Woods Readalikes

Stuart Woods has several series but is best known for his Stone Barrington novels.  Mr. Barrington is a former N.Y.P.D. detective turned lawyer.  Woods writes fast moving investigative thrillers full of twists, and action, often with political or legal intrigue. They are often set in the south and feature boats and boating.  The trappings of the rich and famous – food, wine, name brand clothes – fill the pages  and contribute to the adventure.

Authors with similar style

Jeffrey Archer – has a diverse range of fast paced thrillers.  His novels feature likable characters, the rich and powerful, and offer international intrigue.

David Baldaccidetailed plots, fast paced with suspense and power hungry characters.  Baldacci uses themes of political, corporate secrets and espionage.

Stephen Cannell – is a screen/novel writer with fast paced novels featuring complex plots.  His characters are likable and could be on the screen. His primary character is Shane Scully, LA police detective.

Harlan Coben – Fast paced and complex plots similar to Woods’.  Try the Myron Bolitar mysteries.

Nelson Demille –  writes fast paced thrillers with complex plots and sub plots.  Realistic conflicts like Woods against legal and political backdrops.

Robert Dugoni – Action packed, suspense legal thrillers with David Slone as a wrongful death San Francisco attorney.  The Jury Master is the first in the series.

James Grippando – James Grippando suspenseful, multi plotted novels, featuring likable heroes battling corrupt politicians, lawyers, greedy corporations in dangerous situations.  Start with The Pardon.

John Grisham – Provocative and stories and fast paced novels similar to Stuart Woods with less sex and violence.

Brad Meltzer – fast paced, complex plots, suspenseful thrillers often set in financial, legal and political settings.  Often his naïve heroes find themselves fighting against dangerous and powerful adversaries.  Start with the Zero Game

James Patterson – writes fast paced novels with strong dialogue, well developed plots and twists.  His earlier novels provide detailed descriptions of violence and sex.  Patterson’s Women’s Murder Club series is similar to Stone Barrington series in the novels are fast paced,  focus on wealthy lifestyles and developed plots.

Lawrence Sanders – writes several series that are fast paced, full of detailed plots, twists and turns.  McNally’s Secret  may appeal to Stone Barrington series, as the plots deal with investigations.

 

Adult Services librarian, Union Township branch