readalikes

Apr
23

Five read-alikes to keep you busy this spring

When I read something that I end up loving, I want to recreate the feeling the book has given me. Enter Read-alikes! In 2019 we had many great books checked out from our libraries, and I’ve heard a lot about 2019’s big books from our patrons. Here are five read-alikes for some of our highest […]

By staffwriter | books
DETAIL
Dec
09

5 Books This Is Us Fans Will Love

Do you watch the heartfelt television show This Is Us? Do you find it hard to wait an entire week to watch the new episode? If so, you need to check out these book titles! Everyone loves a great story about love, life and family connections. These 5 book titles are perfect for fans of This Is Us to read while they wait for the shows next episode to air.

By Shayna Sherman | books
DETAIL
May
15

Love American Gods? Try These Absolutely Awesome 4 Books

  Some of us discovered American Gods by Neil Gaiman when the book came out in 2001, winning the Hugo, Nebula, and Locus Awards. Others have recently found it via the tv adaptation currently showing. Either way, if you’re loving the struggles of the godsquad and want more, try one of these awesome book suggestions. […]

By Laura | books
DETAIL

Hillbilly Elegy Readalikes

If you’ve read Hillbilly Elegy by J.D. Vance and you’re looking for a similar book, we have three great suggestions for you. The Glass Castle: A Memoir by Jeannette Walls. While Jeanette didn’t grow up in Appalachia, she and Vance did share being raised by very dysfunctional parents. Her parents were both very bright but […]

By staffwriter | books
DETAIL
Apr
22

If You Like Divergent, Try One of These

Divergent and its sequels remain some of the books that are checked out the most often in our library system. If you’re on the waiting list or you’ve already read them, loved them and want something similar, try these suggestions. Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa. Why: Both books have strong female main characters dealing with […]

By Laura | books
DETAIL